Just Another Dream

It was just another dream. I have had thousands of them. Sometimes they include people you know, sometimes strangers. Sometimes they are about ordinary events, sometimes they are panic-filled persecutions. Very often they are spatially distorted.

Last night I had a dream. It was just another dream. I cannot even remember what it was about. It was just a garden variety dream about typical events.

It was just another dream. Except this time, when I woke up, my best friend had cancer.

I am accustomed to having nightmares. I used to get them all the time, thankfully not so much anymore. But I certainly know the terrifying feeling of being hunted. It is such a dreadful and frightening feeling that when you wake up, there is relief when you realize it is over and you are okay.

But this time was different. This time, the dream was peaceful and the bad part started after I woke up. It was then that I remembered my new reality.

Yesterday, my best friend was diagnosed with pancreatic cancer. He is not okay, and this is not a dream.

The Bible teacher side of me feels like I should write this into a great message, but right now, I’ve got nothing. I am so sad I can hardly bear it.

Do I know that God is sovereign and it intricately involved in every detail of this? Yes. Do I know that He is wise, loving, and good? Yes. Do I pray that my friend will come to know Jesus before he draws his last breath? Absolutely.

Don’t preach to me and don’t patly throw Romans 8.28 at me. Sometimes life just hurts.

Sometimes friends can help but only God can truly minister to the deepest recessed of our souls. So I whisper for Jesus and dream of the day when He comes back to get us.

He has sent me to bind up the brokenhearted. Is 61.1

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Just Another Dream

  1. Vicki says:

    I am sooo sorry to hear this. Life does hurt and I understand the sadness. I know about pancreatic cancer. I lost my husband to this horrible disease a year and a half ago. I will keep your friend (and you) in my prayers.

    When the shock has worn off, I suggest you look up the PANCAN organization (Pancreatic Cancer Action Network). They have good information on clinical research and trials as well as tons of support for patients and families and friends.

    I know I don’t know you, but if you would ever like to talk about what is happening or just vent to someone who “gets” it, I’d be more than happy to listen/talk and pray with you. In the meantime, I’ll be praying for you.

    Vicki

  2. Kim Teamer says:

    My heart is also moved by your words. I am sorry you guys have to face this. Just know you and your friend and your families are lifted up in prayer. God is able…

  3. rachturner says:

    I’m so sorry. As a cancer patient, I know how hard it is not only on the patient, but on everyone who loves the patient. Praying for you and also praying for your friend’s body and soul.

  4. HisJules says:

    Praying for you friend & for your friend. Love you!

Comments are closed.