2 Years

Exactly two years ago at this very moment,  I was treasuring the last few minutes with my beloved Cindy dog after 16 1/2 years together.

That morning, she had the best day she had had in weeks. Her health had been failing, but that morning, she was getting up and walking well. We gave her all of her favorite treats and took her to her favorite spot in the park.

While I was prepared to say goodbye to my sweet girl for her sake, that morning turned out to be the worst day of our lives. Mistakes at the clinic made her final moments traumatic, and that has haunted me since.

I still have strong emotions about that day and still miss her very much. Yet today, while I have been sad, I have not cried. I even laughed at some squirrels playing in my driveway who reminded me of Cindy. And I sit here on the verge of finishing a book about memorizing Scripture.

I do not know what the Lord has planned for this book, but I do know that this is important because I have seen the results firsthand. Communing with God through ingesting His Word is what has changed me. He has transformed my mind and continues to heal me. I am sure God wants that same thing for others.

Praise You, Lord. You know each heart and see the wounds that are not visible. You bind up those wounds and comfort each soul. And while we know life here is hard, we hope in your promise:

And God will wipe away every tear from their eyes; there shall be no more death, nor sorrow, nor crying. There shall be no more pain, for the former things have passed away. Rev 21:4

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 2 Years

  1. John Whiteside says:

    What a wonderful post & my first reading from Cindy’s siesta. It touched home in so many ways to my own life experiences. I don’t mind admitting I felt quit moved when reading. I also have found healing & strength from memorizing & being in the word of The Lord. I would love to get a copy of your book in progress when completed. It took some 15 years before i got another dog, but i love her so very much, she is like my 3rd child & the best behaved at that. Many thanks.
    Kind regards John

Comments are closed.