The Lord’s Timing

Some things in life simply cannot be rushed.

Recently, my very pregnant niece was preparing to have her third child. Her schedule was packed since she was already a wife, mom of 2 boys and a dog, working part time, and finishing her final semester of nursing school.

As I am guessing is typical, the constant question was, “When is baby coming?” About the due date, my niece had it in her mind that baby was coming that Wednesday, because that would cause the least amount of disruption to her busy schedule. That day, I kept checking for news. The news did not come. Everything was fine, the baby just had not come out yet.

After a week with no baby news, it finally dawned on me – baby is coming when baby is coming, and there is not a thing mama can do about it. Granted, doctors can intervene to speed up the process, but when you are trying to do things naturally, the Lord’s timing rules. Ryleigh did decide to grace us with her presence a few days later. 

I identified with this situation as I have been writing my first book. When I started writing it, I had no idea how much time it would take. For some odd reason, I believe I had a crazy notion of a few weeks in my mind. Haha, silly.

Even as I have been working on it, when people ask me when it will be complete, I say things like, “Hopefully this week.” It hit me last week that I’ve been saying that for over a month now.

So, while there are some things that I can do, such as try to be more diligent about staying on task, other things are out of my control, including some issues that have come up in the publishing process. Even the writing itself is in the Lord’s hands, because I can testify that at times I could sit in front of the computer all day long and barely have a paragraph to show for it.

Therefore, I must remind myself that whether it is babies, books, or anything else, the Lord’s timing will prevail. God has a plan, and He is sovereign. His will always comes to pass at the proper time.

“For I know the plans I have for you”—this is the Lord’s declaration—“plans for your welfare, not for disaster, to give you a future and a hope.” ~Jer 29

This entry was posted in Life Application. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to The Lord’s Timing

  1. That is so true! I know that God’s timing and purpose reigns but sometimes I wish it were in my timing!! 🙂

  2. HisJules says:

    Lam 3:25 The LORD is good to those who WAIT for Him, To the person who seeks Him.

    I am so excited to see what God does through you in this book, in His time of course!!

  3. Matt_S_Law says:

    My first book took 387 days. I didn’t set a completion date, I just made sure to work on it every day for 15 minutes. We do not control the results, only the process. Keep it up and God bless!

  4. tcavey says:

    Amen!
    Great advice. God’s timing is perfect.

  5. uduak says:

    this is very true, my first pregnancy felt like it lasted forever, i just couldn’t wait for the baby to come but that wasn’t the same with my second baby. if you believe strongly that all things work together for your good then it pays to rely on God’s timing

Comments are closed.