Baptism

In  those days Jesus came from Nazareth  in Galilee  and was baptized in the Jordan by John. Mk 1:9

This Sunday I will be baptized during worship service at my church. I am excited to officially take this step of obedience and faith. Technically, this will be the third time, but it will also be the last, and the most meaningful.

When I was an infant, I was baptized by sprinkling water on my forehead. I had no say and likely no opinion about the matter.

When I was a new Christian, I was baptized, but at that point I did not understand what it meant. I had never seen an adult baptism before. While I could not have grasped it at the time, I realized later that I was approaching baptism as a hurdle or task that would gain me righteous standing and allow me to fit in with my new friends. I was trying to gain approval through my works.

That is not what baptism is supposed to be about. By a year or two later, I had grown and learned enough to realize that my motives and mindset had been wrong, and I had really missed the true meaning of the observance. Since that time I have wanted to be re-baptized, but the timing and scenario was not right.

Baptism is not about joining a club or a church. It does not get you into heaven, only faith in Jesus does that. It does not grant you “Saint” status, or increase your value in God’s eyes.

It is just the opposite. Instead of trying to work to gain something, baptism is about giving up. It is a public declaration of an internal decision to submit your life to Jesus and align yourself with Him.

Being immersed in the water signifies a death – death to selfish ways, desire to control, and trying to sit on a throne that wasn’t designed for you. Re-emerging from the water symbolizes new life in Christ.

For as many of you as have been baptized into Christ have put on Christ like a garment. Gal 3:27

Over the last few years, I have come to realize that my prideful, fleshly ways do not work. As hard as I have tried, I cannot protect myself or the one I love from pain. I cannot fix everyone’s problems. I cannot make the universe respond to my beck and call. This has caused me much frustration.

So I am trading it in. I am going to try to let God be God and run the universe. I will do what I can, and leave the rest to Him. I anticipate peace and rest as I learn to accept and embrace my proper role.

Even though I still live in this fleshly body and will get irritated when things do not go my way, God can accomplish so much more through me even with my failures than I could ever accomplish in my own strength. And then He will get the glory, as it should be.

Therefore, this Sunday morning, 9:35am EST, I take the plunge. 🙂

What about you?

And now, why delay? Get up and be baptized, and wash away your sins  by calling on His name. Acts 22:16

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Baptism

  1. Kelly S says:

    Michele, We have very similar baptism stories! Third time was it for me as well, LOL! Im so happy for you and I wish I could be there 🙂 You might say were “Anabaptists”, kind of LOL! My pastor did a sermon a couple weeks ago on the early Anabaptist movement. Many believers were killed for wanting to be baptized again as a believer. We take the privilege lightly sometimes. Im so glad I finally understood and participated with a willing and grateful heart! May the Lord bless you in your obedience! Much love, Kelly

  2. Tina says:

    Michelle,
    Awesome!!!!!
    Looking forward to hearing all about it, so happy for you!!!!
    Many blessings,
    Tina

  3. rachturner says:

    Good for you, Michele!! What a huge moment in your spiritual walk!!

  4. pitman6 says:

    God bless you, Michele, for your act of obedience! Immersion is not an easy thing, but then, the death, burial, and resurrection of Jesus Christ on our behalf was certainly not an easy thing either.

  5. HisJules says:

    COUNT ME IN WITH THOSE 3X WORKS! SO PROUD FOR YOU MICHELE! Thank you for sharing, you always know just how to say things.

  6. Harold Zimmer says:

    This is AWESOME…. 🙂

Comments are closed.