Power Through Prayer

We were created to be in intimate relationship with God. He wants us to know Him. How do you get to know someone? By communicating with them.

God communicates with us in many ways, but our primary means of communication back with Him is through prayer. Therefore, one of the best things we can do for our spiritual walk is to be intentional about prayer – to pray often, and to regularly seek to improve our prayer lives.

This topic has been on my heart recently. I am short-changing myself if I only go to God to thank Him for what He does and ask Him to do more. If I only relate with God about what He can do for me, I am missing the incredible gift of experiencing His magnificent presence.

Recently, I read “Power Through Prayer,”  by E. M. Bounds.  I had not heard of Bounds before, but as soon as I started reading, I was captivated. The book was written for preachers, but the concepts apply to all Christians, because no matter where your paycheck comes from, we are all called to glorify God through praying, witnessing, and ministering to others in our daily lives.

“Power Through Prayer” is not a “how-to” book that tells you exactly words to speak to God to get what you want. It is a book about your heart. Bounds goes through the necessity and importance of prayer and how prayer taps into God’s unlimited power, emphasizing desire and commitment to prayer.

Bounds boldly declares that ministry is ineffective without prayer, and conversely, the most powerful witness, the most fulfilling life, and the most satisfied heart is the one that spends time on its knees before God early every morning.

It was the heart that drew the Son of God from heaven. It is the heart that will draw men to heaven…

To pray is the greatest thing we can do…

We must learn anew the worth of prayer – enter anew into the school of prayer…

I highly encourage everyone to read “Power Through Prayer.” It is penetrating, convicting, and compelling. Bounds wrote other books on prayer, and now I cannot wait to read them.

Be blessed 🙂

 

 

This entry was posted in Life Application. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Power Through Prayer

  1. missy2u says:

    Definitely adding this book to my TRL (to read list) During lent 2012 I decided to intently seek God, make time for Him.
    Great article

Comments are closed.