Breakthrough

When I was a new Christian, I heard Chuck Swindoll say that the single most powerful thing you could do for your spiritual walk is to memorize Scripture.

So I began to study and memorize God’s Word, and I saw the power quickly. Not my power, but things that God did in my life that I knew were because of His Word working in me.

Later, I joined Bible teacher Beth Moore and a few thousand of our closest friends in a structured corporate Scripture memory program where we each memorized 24 verses throughout the calendar year. That was extremely helpful for providing encouragement and motivation.

So, over the years that I have been memorizing Scripture, I have been amazed at the power of the Sword of the Spirit.

And now, a breakthrough…

Last year, Beth Moore published James, the latest of her intensive video-driven Bible studies. However, this time she did something different: she structured the study to allow five different levels of participation, which catered to both those who did not have much time as well as those who wanted to go deeper.

The Level 5 task was to memorize the book of James.

Sounds daunting, right? I thought so too. Until God revealed something incredible.

I did not think I was up to memorizing James during the study, because I was not very familiar with the book. I had read it, sure, but never studied it in depth. Mostly because of verse 1:2. 😉

So I just read it. Every morning I read the entire book of James out loud. That’s it. I did not try to analyze it or work on memorizing it, I just read it straight through, out loud.

Then, when I went to memorize it, it only took 25 days.

25 days.

What???

Yes.

I will write more and explain the techniques I used to memorize it, but the most important nugget from this is –

Read God’s Word out loud.

There is awesome power in the spoken Word of God.

This entry was posted in Bible Study, Scripture Memory. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Breakthrough

  1. Deborah says:

    I was in the filming for a couple of those and really want to do the study. I have a terrible time memorizing. But I can usually remember where to find the verses. Looking forward to hearing about your technique.

  2. missy2u says:

    I struggle with memorization but I am going to start. I’m always in awe when I hear people who know scripture and apply it in their life and can also use it in context to help. When I grow up that is what I would like to do. I believe once I’m disciplined I will get this but until then I am grateful for His grace.

    I look forward to the next steps…round 1 of my James read coming up this weekend.

    • Michele says:

      That is great!
      Remember to ask God to help you. I have some other tips here on my blog, but for right now, don’t worry about it, just read it out loud.
      May the Lord bless your dedication! 🙂

  3. When I lost my job at the beginning of 2009, right at the height of the crisis I read, aloud, Matthew 6:19-34 and Habakkuk 3. Very soul-soothing. That was when I began to discover the power of the Word when spoken.

    I don’t believe there’s anything mystical/magical about it, it’s just that the Word was written in such a way that it sounds better spoken than heard in your head.

  4. Jacqueline Hurt says:

    Would love to know your techniques for memorizing scripture. As my plate is pretty full with work, it is sometimes daunting to try and remember names of the folks I meet(😁)
    However, I wish to have a stronger walk with Him and the ability to know that my prayers are pleasing to Him. I find the prayers and words of the prophets so beautiful.
    Again, thank you for the tweet follow, pretty new at that as well. I wish you a wonderful day and many blessings to you my new friend.

    Jacqueline

  5. Jerry Burridge says:

    Several yheara ago I did the same process with Hebrews. I have not.memorized. it in its entirety. But I use that method with John and 1 john.

Comments are closed.