No More Fear Of Death

In our society, the fear of death is prevalent. People panic at the thought of losing a loved one.

Whenever someone sustains a traumatic injury or receives a life-threatening diagnosis, their loved ones do not hesitate to publicize it and request prayer for healing.

If you mention suicide, all kinds of bells and whistles go off. People drop everything to try to stop you, and you may just find yourself shuttled to a lock-down facility.

And yet,…

In our politically correct, all-inclusive culture, many Christians shy away from talking about Jesus with their unbelieving friends because they do not want to offend or repel them.

Yes, we should pray for healing when people are ill.

My question is:

WHY are we so passionate about saving a physical life that lasts only a few years and not nearly as zealous about rescuing a soul that lives for all eternity?

The few years we spend in flesh on planet earth are negligible compared to our souls living forever either in heaven or in hell.  Placing one’s faith in Jesus and accepting his death on the cross as payment for our sin is the only way to get into heaven.

If there was a life-saving cancer remedy, would you tell people about it? Well, there is a Savior of our souls. His name is Jesus. He died to eliminate the power of death, to reconcile us to our Father, and to allow us to live with God in paradise forever.

Want to help save a life? Tell someone about Jesus today.

Since the children have flesh and blood, he too shared in their humanity so that by his death he might destroy him who holds the power of death—that is, the devil— and free those who all their lives were held in slavery by their fear of death. Heb 2:14–15

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to No More Fear Of Death

  1. Marie says:

    Awesome, awesome, awesome!

    A few weeks ago I came very close to taking my own life. (I won’t go into details here; you can read about it if you want on my blog). You are very right that people freaked and did everything they could to stop me. While I am grateful for that, I can’t remember anyone saying, “Jesus gave you this precious life.” In that moment, when I most needed reminding of God’s existence and grace, there was none. I don’t think it was intentional, by any means. I think it’s just so easy for us to lose focus.

    • Michele says:

      Oh Marie, I am sorry you were going through that and that I have not been keeping in touch. I hope you are doing better. I have been battling depression again lately also. We need to stay connected and most importantly stay in the Word! I will read your latest blog posts.

Comments are closed.