Where Are You Going?

God has been speaking to me lately about setting goals. Not just for chores around the house, but meaningful goals. Life goals.

The last few years have turned my life upside-down. Losing my job, church, friends, and my beloved dog and cat have left me stunned and asking questions such as:

  • Who am I?
  • What should I be doing?
  • Should I move to the south?
  • What is God’s will for my life?

Life on planet Earth is a journey. Where are you going?

On a calm, sunny day, you would be able to navigate by the sun. But during the storms, especially on a raging sea where nothing is stable, you need to know what direction you should be heading, and you need to trust your compass. Otherwise, you will aimlessly drift in circles.

God has placed His Holy Spirit inside  each person who accepts Jesus. His Spirit within the heart of each believer is our constant companion and guide. He is our trustworthy compass.

So, all we need to know is – where are we heading?

I have struggled to figure out “God’s will for my life.” I thought, all I need to do is figure out what I am supposed to do, and do that. But the Bible does not say, “Thou shalt attend Church ABC, work 34 years at company  XYZ, and then retire to Beach City.” Don’t you wish it was that clear?

Then God showed me that I was not looking at it correctly. The Bible is very clear. What did Jesus say was the first and greatest commandment (Mark 12:30)? We are called to seek God first and then he will direct our paths.

Charles Stanley wrote a valuable book on this topic called, “Success God’s Way: Achieving True Contentment And Purpose.” In it, he summarized the Apostle Paul’s life goal:

“The priority goal for the apostle Paul was to know the Lord Jesus Christ in a personal, intimate way, and to know Him to the degree that he would be conformed completely to the likeness of Christ Jesus.”

In Beth Moore’s “Believing God” Bible study, she lists five primary Benefits each Christian inherits. They are:

  1. To know God and believe Him
  2. To Glorify God
  3. To find satisfaction in God
  4. To experience God’s peace
  5. To enjoy God’s presence

Those sound like excellent goals to me, so that is where I am starting. I am adopting these as my primary goals. I expect God to help me refine and personalize them, and then add goals in other areas, such as finances and exercise, but this is a fine starting point. I want to seek, trust, and love God with everything in me. If I focus on that, all the other details will work out. God promises us that.

So, what about you? Where are you going?

Join me. 🙂

p.s. – Another helpful book on goal-setting and attitude transformation is Shad Helmstetter’s “Who Are You Really And What Do You Want?”
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Where Are You Going?

  1. bethany courtney says:

    yes ! thanks for the encouragement

  2. Heather says:

    Just read your scripture memorization tips. They are great!! Thank you!!!!

  3. Hello & welcome to blogging. I like your story. It reminds me of my trials. Despite it all God is good. I have no idea where I am going except forward in Him.

    I was busy homeschooling my daughter as a single mom which was Gods will for us until it was not. Suddenly He said public school for her and college for me.
    Total upheaval ensued.

    It still looks like a crazy senseless journey but I persist. I like your book shelf “back ground”. I used to be an avid reader before I was a mom.

    Blessings

    • Michele says:

      Hello! Yes, God is good, all the time. The bookshelf is my actual bookshelf in my office/library room. Some of my favorites in that shot.

      Thanks for visiting! 🙂

Comments are closed.