High and Lifted Up

In the year that King Uzziah died, I saw the Lord. Isaiah 6:1a

Over the last seven years since I met God, each time I suffered a traumatic event, God gave me Isaiah 6:1.

This verse refers to a national tragedy that likely distressed Isaiah himself. The king died. I learned in a previous Bible study that sometimes God allows or orchestrates losses in our lives so that we may see him. Removal of the earthly king allows us to see our Divine King.

Isaiah and his countrymen suffered loss. So did I. “In the year I lost my job…,” “In the year my sweet Cindy died…,” “In the year my hope was shattered, I saw the Lord.”…

Recently, after receiving that verse repeatedly while dealing with two significant losses, I knew Isaiah 6:1 would be my next memory verse. I had memorized it in English back in 2006, so I thought it would be easy. I was mistaken.

I have had trouble memorizing this verse. This was more than diminished mental capacity due to depression, something else was wrong. What?

Then God showed me the problem. I had been trying to learn the Greek words, but I did not really know the verse in English. After all that had happened, I was stuck on the first part – “In the year I lost…,” and that’s where I stopped. I was so consumed with the depth and breadth of my losses, that I was solely focused on them.

What is the rest of the verse?

In the year that King Uzziah died, I saw the Lord seated on a throne, high and exalted, and the train of his robe filled the temple. Isaiah 6:1

Isaiah did not just see God on the street. He saw Jesus, the Lord of all Creation, sitting on his throne. He is still King of Kings and Lord of Lords. He saw Jesus high and exalted. God is still ruling the universe, and nothing happens outside of his control or without his knowledge.

One of my commentaries suggests that the aspect of the train of the Lord’s robe filling the temple (or palace) meant that no human priest could minister there. In our darkest hour, when there is nothing any person can do or say to ease our pain, Jesus our Healer is there, and His grace is sufficient for all our needs.

He wants us to come to him when we are suffering. He wants us to know that he is good and trust that he has a plan for us. And he wants us to see him as he truly is – high and lifted up, worthy of all our praise.

Matthew Henry wrote, “What the prophet here saw is revealed to us, that we, mixing faith with that revelation, may in it, as in a glass, behold the glory of the Lord; let us turn aside therefore, and see this great sight with humble reverence.”

Holy, Holy, Holy is the Lord God Almighty.

This entry was posted in Bible Study. Bookmark the permalink.