Duty or Delight Week 1

Here we go!! Summer Bible study is officially underway!

To make sure we are all on the same page, over the next six weeks we will be studying Duty or Delight by Tammie Head. By now hopefully everyone has picked up their copy of DoD and read the introductory pages 1-9. So, without further adieu, let’s get in the Word!

Step 1 – Prayer: Let us begin our study by going before the throne of God:

Father, we praise your Holy Name. We thank you for the immeasurable gift of your living Word. Guide, teach, and touch us through this study.  We know that you do not want robots to do your will, you want an intimate, loving relationship with each of us. Penetrate into every nook and cranny of our hearts and minds, especially into the places that have been wounded or that we have not yet completely surrendered to You. Cleanse, heal, and transform us from Pharisees busily keeping your law into disciples sitting at your table in communion with you. Bring us a place where the worries and pursuits of this world fade as our greatest desire becomes leaning in and getting as close as possible to you. Teach us what it means to truly “Delight yourself in the Lord.” (Ps 37.4). Thank You, Father. In the mighty, lovng name of Jesus, amen.

Step 2 – Video: Now, let’s start off the study by watching the introductory video by Tammie (.wmv format). (The video is also available in .mov format.)

Step 3 – Discussion Comments: If you have not already introduced yourself here on this blog or on the fb group, please do so now. If you do not want to say much, at least leave your name (or even secret code name) so we know you are here and can be praying for you.

Then, answer one or both of these questions either here or on the facebook group page.

  1. Question 1 – Elevators: Notice the elevators on the front & back covers. What does this symbolize to you? What floor are you on in your relationship with God – the penthouse, the basement, or somewhere in between? Are you heading up or down? What button did you push – where do you want to be?
  2. Question 2 – TOC: Read the Table of Contents on page 3. Which one of the six truths listed stands out to you most and why? Is there one you have difficulty believing? Is there one or more that you can say you know without a shadow of a doubt?

Step 4: Homework through this week: Do week 1 (pages 10-35) in your DoD book by next Tuesday. Since the 25-page section is not sub-divided into individual day assignments, I suggest pacing yourself at about 5 pages a day.

Feel free to comment throughout the week on what God is doing through this study.

I am excited and honored to take this journey with you. Talk to you soon, Siestas!

This entry was posted in Bible Study. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Duty or Delight Week 1

  1. kaschroer says:

    Just finished watching Tammie’s video and have tears in my eyes. Please, Father, meet each Siesta where she needs You the most.

    • Michele says:

      hahaha Karen I’m laughing because you reminded me I haven’t watched it yet. I previewed it a while back, but haven’t watched it as part of the study. I’ve been so busy setting up the study that I have to remember to actually DO the study myself!! 🙂

  2. Michele says:

    Hey how is everyone’s studing going so far?

  3. Courtney Beth Burnside says:

    Dearest Michele & you all, I began the book, then could not find the book, then realized it was hiding under my spirals, now went over quite a bit of it yesterday, keeping notes as i went, hope to have increasingly lucid moments as it is quite a lot if serious thinking to process all the insights that may occur to you as we work on our lessons !!! I love the magic of elevators, opening one door, closing another, beam me up, Scotty, time travel, let’s ditch this scene, move on, move on, stop the world, I want to get off !!!! What floor are you on in your relationship with God? Speaking of pondering insights, the LPM Blog has helped me with so many insights this year of Scripture memory like when Beth asked us to post memorizing scripture has…helped me to refocus my mind, when I otherwise would have been stressed, somewhere in between, 2.TOC, since reading1-30 I i’ll just guess the first stop Chosen !!! I am totally thrilled with the first week, I I love the back cover of the book, and 1-30 this will so help me !!! more later, love, hugs & prayers xoxo cb

    t

Comments are closed.