Summer Bible Study – Introductions

Hello all! Ready to get this party started?

We will get going with introductions. If you are joining us in this study, please leave a comment on this post and tell us a little about yourself – your first name, where you live, family, what is important to you, etc. **-Please keep in mind that any comments on this blog are live on the internet so to protect yourself, please do not post any sensitive information that you wouldn’t want the whole world to see.

Also, share where you are as we approach this study, or what you are hoping for as we go through it.

If you are here and studying with us but do not wish to comment, that’s okay too. I’m glad you are here and praying God touches your heart as you study along with us. If you would like to contact me directly, use the Contact page.

I’ll start to give you the idea. Okay?

Let’s hear it Siestas!

Note: The reason we created fb group was to allow for more spontaneous interaction. I moderate comments here, so it greatly slows down the flow of communication. In a group forum like fb, people can comment at will and others can instantly see it, and new threads can be started by anyone in the group at any time, so direct chatting is much easier. That said, we sure don’t want to exclude anyone, so if you are more comfortable commenting here, go right ahead.

This entry was posted in Bible Study. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Summer Bible Study – Introductions

  1. Michele says:

    Hi! My name is Michele. I am in my 40’s, single, live in Liverpool, NY. I’ve known God about 8 years now. I’ve been going through a long season of loss and grief. The worst part was last year when I lost the love of my life, my bff and companion of 16 1/2 years, my sweet dog Cindy. I still miss her tons.

    I’ve been unemployed for almost 3 years. I know God has a plan, but I have no idea what that plan is, so sometimes I feel insecure and lost because I do not know where I should be heading or what I should be doing.

    I am interested in this study because I hear people talk about being “crazy in love” with Jesus. I want that. I know God, I know he speaks to me and I want to do his will, but it is still mostly in my head. I want my wounded heart to be completely his. I do not want to continue to try to figure out what he wants me to do. I want to love God completely & passionately, and let any good works flow from that.

    That’s a bit about me. I am looking forward to getting to know each of y’all!

    Michele

    • Courtney Beth Burnside says:

      Michele, Hi, my name is Bethany, and I’m in my 50’s, I can so relate to your season of loss, some encouragenment to my heart is gleaned from Beth’s post of letting go & welcoming in, especially how she spoke to each child “Hi, my name is Miss Beth, and I’m new at this church, will you be my friend!!!”, remember? So, I’m a Navy wife, and though my beloved husband is retired, the Skipper’s wife likes to say,” Navy wives never retire, God help us!!” we are keeping busy with a garden, Bible Study, Pastor said”” I never learned more about God than in the garden”, five dogs, two cats, family & friends. So, though by nature I mostly am a happy person, I love how Tammy is calling our attention to (as noted on the back cover,) ” You can stop living in guilt, confusion, and duty. You can delight in the God who delights in you.” Thanks a million for this time of study&, fellowship to encourage us!!! xoxo love, hugs,& prayers bethany

  2. My name is Tracy, I am in my 40’s. I am married to my best friend and we have one son (who is very dear to my heart). We live in Mobile, AL where it is both hot and humid. I would love to live where it is cooler and where I can see the seasons change. I work for a Cardiologist office in the insurance department. I love to both read and write. Typically I have what I call a fun book that I am reading and anywhere from 1 to 2 other books or studies that I am doing. I blog and am currently writing my first Ebook (please pray have never done this before). I have been a Christian for 14 years and love Jesus, I have taught several bible studies and have spoke at several conferances in my local area. I love to help and serve women. I enjoy seeing woman finding out who they are in Christ.

    I am excited to get to know all of you through this study as well as draw closer to my Jesus. That is about it.
    Tracy

  3. Yolanda says:

    Hello, I am in my 40’s, I live about 2 miles outside of Ulysses, KS in the country. I have been married just over 17 years, and I have two adult step children and the blessings of three young grand children. Amazing to hear those precious words…Grandma, I love you; without ever having birthed a child from my body. BUT FROM MY HEART…oh yes!

    My husband and I after much prayer, closed our business in April of 2009. It is one of the wisest descions we have ever made. My husband bought the business from his parents in the early 70’s and the VERY day we closed was also our 63yrd anniversary of being a corporation.

    I’ve been a child of God since Nov of 1999. I am a co-leader in our church for our Women’s Ministry team, and dealing with hurting women due to some of the leadership in our church. Honestly, that has taken its toll on me and my heart and I have become very lax. Going to Deeper Still earlier this month was really a blessing, but I know tht I need more of Jesus, and I also know that a study causes me to seek Him more. That is what I am after…seeking and loving Him more to then be able to love others well.

    I’ve also become passionate about running and cycling. Both are new found loves only in 2011 and love how both have spiraled my health into a much better position than ever before. Taking my health into my own hands instead of waiting on modern medicine. Prayers as well….God is still in the miracle working business.

  4. Gail says:

    Hi, all! My name is Gail, I live in Washington with my husband and 3 daughters, and I love interactive Bible studies like this! You can count me in! I can’t wait!

  5. karen says:

    Hi! My name is Karen. I am in my 50′s, happily married, live in Memphis, TN (hopefully temporary). My husband lives in Palm Harbor, FL…. my adult children also live in FL. I’ve known God for a long time, but had a wake up call on March 18, 2010 when my husband went into the hospital for a day surgery and was in intensive care for 7 days – it could have gone either way. God changed our life path dramatically that day.

    I too , know God has a plan, but I have no idea what that plan is. My world has been rocked by dramatic change. A song has resonated in my head – when my world is shaking, heaven stands; when my heart is breaking, I am in His hands. He’s holding me…. I am working on the the security and confidence.

    I am interested in this study because I had such a GREAT experience last summer with the Ruth study – I had my hands full and was waiting for everything to work out. And it has ,,,, partially. And I still wait…

    Karen

  6. Courtney Beth Burnside says:

    Dearest Michele & you all girlfriends, siestas, & few brave men, what a delight to embark on this journey with you!!! I have so enjoyed your posts!!! Michele, so grateful I happened to read yours under the post about ticket scholarships for Lincoln, Nebraska by KMAC on the LPM site!!! about this study you so brillantly are orchastrating !!! I clicked on the link and read about you all, and thought how great that since many of us needed this summer Bible study encouragment, and our brave, courageous, busy, overextended, Miss Beth, could not fit in the space, God gave you the wherewithall to do this THANK YOU MICHELE YOU ARE THE BEST, WE LOVE YOU, WE LIKE YOU, WE MISS YOU !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Bill Gothard thought he had the gift of exortation, so must you!!!!!!! love, prayers, & hugs xoxox in Christ, your Siesta Sister, Courtney Bethany

    • Michele says:

      Hello Courtney! So glad to have you here! Thank you for such kind words. Jump in, we’re just getting started! 🙂

Comments are closed.