Jonah’s Three Days

I just started reading Priscilla Shirer‘s book “Life Interrupted.” I figured it would be applicable because my life has been interrupted, devastated, invaded, redeemed, infiltrated, and turned completely upside down over the last few years. Jonah is packed with helpful, enlightening lessons, which I am sure Priscilla will investigate as we sail along.

The book revolves around the person and story of Jonah. As an overanalyzer with a keen eye for detail, I thought about the story, and right away one detail snagged me.

Jonah was in the belly of the fish three days and three nights. Jonah 1:17

My thought was – How could he possibly have known how long he was in there?

Right? I am pretty sure he did not have an iPhone, a watch, or even a piece of chalk to mark each passing block of time on the lining of the stomach inside the great fish. And do not even get me going on the details of his environment. Pitch black, cramped, lying in digestive juices, take a moment and think about that. YUK!

Whether the three days were literal or a parts of two days surrounding a full day, it was likely 48-72 hours, which had to seem like forever.

When we are in a trial, we may not be able to clearly see or understand what is going on around us or what God is doing. But whenever things are tough, and our trials are lingering on, let us remember – it could be worse. I could be in the stomach of a fish.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Jonah’s Three Days

  1. Carol says:

    I have that book and started reading it then I stopped but need to pick it back up again , and you hit it head on about the trials I have had that this week, so thanks Michele did you see my SSMT verse James 1:2-3
    its about trials
    Carol

  2. Jeanine says:

    Michele,

    I can relate to the past few years of upheaval. I have been wondering what Bible Study I should pick up next. This might be the one I should do. Thanks for sharing, and indeed…it could be worse. I could be in the stomach of a fish – YUK!

    • Michele says:

      Hi Jeanine! Yes, upheaval is the pits. :/ Even ultimately good changes can be difficult through the transition season.
      Are you joining us for Duty or Delight? We will be doing it this summer. It’s by Tammie Head. If you don’t have other study plans, we’d love for you to join us! I’ll be posting more info on it soon.

  3. Grace Houle says:

    It is all about perspective 😉 Sometimes I feel overwhelmed with 2 kids, but I talked to someone who was a part of a 20 kid family the other day (adopted and biological) I can’t even imagine.

    • Michele says:

      20?? Wow I am sure I can’t imagine that. And I don’t mean to make light of difficult times or long term depression (which I still battle). I just thought about how terrible those conditions had to be for Jonah, and I know that even during the difficult times, I am thankful to be in my comfortable house.

Comments are closed.