We are Barabbas

You know the story… Barabbas was a criminal imprisoned at the time of Jesus’ trial. Gospel accounts portray Barabbas as a sinful man.

  • … they had a notorious prisoner, called [Jesus] Barabbas. Mt 27.16
  • This was a man who had been put in prison for an insurrection that had taken place in the city, and for murder. Lk 23.19
  • Now Barabbas was a bandit. Jn 18.40

Pilate, the Roman Governor of Judea, wanted to pardon and release Jesus, but he consented to the will of the crowd and released Barabbas instead.

So sinful Barabbas goes free while sinless Jesus gets tortured and executed.

Did you also know…

Barabbas is only mentioned in the four Gospels during the trial of Jesus. His name is not used anywhere else in Scripture. Typically, when Scripture introduces a person, it gives relative identifying information. Brother of James, son of David, Saul of Tarsus, etc. There is no identifying clause used with Barabbas, so we do not know anything about his genealogy or place of origin.

In ancient culture, your name was extremely significant. The meaning of your name also defined you as a person. For instance, Jacob means the deceiver, and he acted as such (Gen 27).

Barabbas = Bar (son of) + Abba (the father). Even Barabbas’ name is void of any valuable description. Of course he is the son of his father. It is intrinsically impossible for anyone to be the son of someone else’s father.

So the punishment of Barabbas the son of the father was placed on Jesus the Son of the Father.

So who is Barabbas?…

Barabbas is essentially a faceless character in the story.

He is no one.

Or he is everyone

Jesus took the punishment so that each of us could be set free.

But God demonstrates his own love for us in this: While we were still sinners, Christ died for us. Rom 5.8

Jesus took our place in order to reconcile us to God.

Paul explained the position we inherit in Christ, “You received the Spirit of sonship. And by him we cry Abba, Father. The Spirit himself testifies with our spirit that we are God’s children.” Rom 8.15b-16.

Therefore, since Jesus died for us, we are now children of God. Bar-Abba(s).

We are Barabbas. Sinners that deserved punishment but instead are now free sons (and daughters) of the Father.

Thank You, Jesus. Praise You, Lord.


This entry was posted in Bible Study. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to We are Barabbas

  1. Loved it. I agree we are Barabbas. I have never really looked at Barabbas that way, thanks. It was also good to receive a blog from you I missed them.

    • Michele says:

      Thanks Tracy! I’ve been wanting to write more, but it’s been a difficult season. Trusting God’s timing.

      • Want to share something with you. As you are my husband was without a full time position, now he did have a part-time job however the amount of hours for him to work kept getting smaller. Let’s just say it was a long season. Well, just the other week God provided him with a new position. The neat thing is all three of us (my son included) had been praying for a new job. Then one day my son said to us “our due season is coming”. I am saying that to you, hang in there your due season is coming.

        Tracy

      • Michele says:

        Thank you Tracy! I know God has a plan, he just hasn’t told me what it is yet. There was a fantastic job I really wanted down south last month, but it didn’t work out & that got me down. I have to keep reminding myself that God could bring the perfect job to me at any moment if it’s His will, so I trust & keep doing what I can.

        So glad about your husband’s new job and that you can see the promised land! 🙂

  2. Rebecca says:

    Happy Easter!
    I hope the light of the cross brings a new season for you Michele!!

  3. Susan Shay says:

    I saw your comment on Beth Moore’s 4/22 blog. “So today, I spent all morning with my nose in my Bible, and was so grateful when God met me there and showed me a number of cool things.

    “I wrote about one of them: We are Barabbas”

    Very profound and so very true. Thank you for listening to Him. I think you’ve given me my blog for tomorrow.
    Thank you.
    Your siesta, Susan

  4. Carol says:

    I pray for you Michele that God would meet you in a special way this Easter weekend like Beth said in her blog that He would raindown and I pray that He will rain down on you and give you a joy that only He can give and love you with a love that only He can love you with and give you a peace that only He can give you.
    Have A Blessed Easter Weekend Michele and every corner you turn may He meet you there and every step you take may He hold your hand .
    Siesta Carol

  5. Pingback: Resurrection Sunday « Small Town World

Comments are closed.