Cindy’s Final Siesta

When I started this blog, I decided on the name “Cindy’s Siesta” aware of the double meaning intrinsic in that title.

The primary meaning was the fact that I am a Siesta (Disciple of Jesus/student of Beth Moore), and I have a convenant relationship with Cindy as her owner. Therefore, i.e., ergo, the writer of this blog is the Siesta that belongs to Cindy. Or, in my Johannine voice – “The Siesta that Cindy loves.” 🙂

In addition, I realized the application of the other meaning of the word siesta. Since Cindy was 16 at the time, I knew that there would be a day in the not-too-distant future when she would “fall asleep.” The final nap that doesn’t end. That excruciating day came just over 4 months ago.

Recently, I have been dealing with Cindy and AJ’s “estates.” I gave away most of Cindy’s meds, stored a few of her things I might use again someday, and donated AJ’s things to the local Humane Association. Then I started sorting through pictures.

I had a 50% off coupon for a canvas print, so I wanted to make a collage of Cindy pictures. *FYI – 700 pictures is WAY too many options for an overanalyzer. And of course the process itself was inherently difficult. Looking through pictures brought back happy memories that swirled around in my heart with the pain of missing her. Many times I just had to set it down and try again another day. <Insert 2 months, 3 boxes of tissues, and many hours here>

Finally, it was done:

This collage portrays an overview of Cindy’s life. From puppy to old dog, all her favorite things. The four close-up pics in the center show her age progression. The action shots around the outside are as follows:

Starting from top left and moving clockwise-

  • Watching (and in younger years chasing/barking at) any and all other creatures
  • Napping. Here she is resting against Bobo, her stuffed tiger she used to play with
  • Running. She could run like the wind when she was young. I love this shot
  • Making doggie snow angels.
  • Swimming. Of course, being a retriever mix, she loved the water.
  • With AJ, her housemate for 14 years. While Cindy usually ignored him, they used to play sometimes.
  • Eating ice cream. Too cute.
  • As a puppy, she would curl up in the funniest places.
  • This picture was right after a bath, when she was so clean and soft.
  • Laying in the grass in the sunshine.
  • In this full-body shot she is barking. For the first 14 years, she was a very vocal dog.
  • Playing in the leaves. I love this shot because it shows her incredibly sleek coat she had when she was young.

I cannot wait to see the canvas print of this collage. Cindy was the best dog ever. I miss her so much every day. I am so thankful that when she was around 11 years old, I realized my time with her was limited, and decided to never walk by her again without patting, kissing, or at least talking to her. I think it annoyed her a little at first, but I am so glad I did. I loved loving on her.

Now, my sweet Cindy has taken her final siesta. I love her so much. I am so thankful for Cindy, her compainionship, and all the great times we had in our 16 1/2 years together. I miss you, Baby Girl. ♥♥♥

This entry was posted in Cindy. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Cindy’s Final Siesta

  1. Nice, MM. Very much like.

  2. Carol says:

    Love it Michele
    I t has me thinking about Hershey because she is getting up there in age as I sure u have seen a picture of her
    so I think about you as you miss your Cindy
    Carol

  3. Kelly S. says:

    Love it 🙂

  4. Tina says:

    Awww this is so beautiful!!!
    My little man Skipper he is 16 and I will have to say good bye soon. He was my baby and having no kids that just amplified that role of him. His kidneys are failing and his quality of life is not as it should be.
    GOD has truly blessed us in the love and companionship we receive from these precious creation’s!!
    Many blessings,
    Tina

    • Michele says:

      Thank you Tina! Yes I lived alone most of the time I had Cindy, so I know what you mean. I pray God gives you some more special moments with Skipper while you are still together. 🙂

  5. Rebecca says:

    Very nice Michele and will always be a great reminder of your friend. It is funny how someone steps into your life and takes your heart. [[[hug]]]

  6. Tracy says:

    Michele,

    This was such an awesome way to show your love for Cindy.

    • Michele says:

      Thanks Tracy. I think it has been part of the grieving/healing process also. When I first started looking at the pictures, I could barely look through a couple until I would have to stop because I would be crying so hard and so depressed. Now, I still miss her like crazy, but I have more memories of love for her and I am happy and thankful for all the great times we had together. She was the best dog ever and I am so thankful for her. 🙂

      • We all have a time of grieving when we have lost someone that we carried about, and each of us grieve in different
        ways for different amounts of time. I believe you are correct in that creating this beautiful picture has gotten you
        thru a part of your grieving process.

        Question for you are you going to continue with this blog titled Cindy’s Siesta or change the name? Have you thought
        about that?

      • Michele says:

        I have thought about that, but at this point I really don’t know. I thought that if I end up actually doing ministry, I would start a new blog with a registered domain, but I have no idea where I am going or what I should be doing. I have no direction right in my life right now. I don’t even know what I will do for work, where I will live, or where I will go to church, so deciding on a new blog domain name is not going to happen anytime soon until some of the other pieces fall into place.

        I am not ready to let go of it yet anyhow. I have done some things, but I am not finished with the grieving process and not ready to let go of my Cindy blog yet. I think for now, for these small posts, I will keep this blog active.

  7. Michele,

    God has a plan for you. He will point you the right direction. He will also carry you through this process of grieving. I know that I am not telling you anything that you don’t already know, but I just wanted to say it. Here if you need me.

Comments are closed.