The Vulnerability of the Cross

A few minutes ago, while I was engaged in #tworship (Worship on Twitter), my posture came to mind. I had my head bowed, hands clasped together against my forehead, elbows in tight. I realized my posture was “closed.” I very much desire a greater intimacy with God, so I picked my head up, extended my arms out to the sides, and invited Him to come closer.

Now, I realize that God’s Holy Spirit dwells inside each of us who believe Jesus is Lord. Yet this physical act represented what I desired spiritually – to open up more of my heart to God.

Immediately, God showed me the correlation of Jesus’ posture as He hung on the cross. Think about the stance of fighters engaged in battle. The typical defensive stance is to have your elbows in, hands up in front of your face, arms protecting your core. Feet are spread apart to provide a sturdy foundation. Bent knees prime the strong quadracept muscles which can then blast the entire body forward for an attack.

When Jesus was on the cross, his arms were straight out to the side, totally exposing all of his most vital areas. There was absolutely no protection on his head or chest, not even a stitch of clothing. His feet were nailed together to the wood. Contrary to the way a fighter uses his legs, Jesus’ knees were bent by the suffocating weight of his body. He pushed down against the nail through excruciating pain not to attack, but to try to grab a breath of air.

I dare say there cannot be a more vulnerable posture.

The One who could have commanded legions of angels to immediately come to his aid did not. The One who could have ordered the nails to retreat did not. The One who could have deserted the confines of human skin and returned immediately to His throne did not.

He endured. He made himself vulnerable for us. He opened his arms to invite us into the glorious riches of his heart.

Praise You, Lord Jesus

This entry was posted in Theology. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Vulnerability of the Cross

  1. Jeanine says:

    Beautifully expressed, Michele. Thank you.

Comments are closed.