SMT 1 Check-in

Hi y’all!  How is everyone doing with their memory verses? 

Here is a recap of our verses:

Kelly: Romans 15.13 Now may the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace in believing, so that you may overfow with hope by the power of the Holy Spirit.

Rebecca: English Standard Version:”I will rejoice and be glad in your steadfast love, because you have seen my affliction; you have known the distress of my soul”, Ps 31:7

Becky: 2 TImothy 1:7 (HCSB) ~ For God has not given us a spirit of fearfulness, but one of power, love, and sound judgment.

Tracy: Jeremiah 1:9-10 NKJV “Then the Lord put forth His hand and touched my mouth, and the Lord said to me behold I have put my words in your mouth. See I have this day set you over the nations and over the kingdoms to root out and to pull down. To destroy and to throw down and to plant.”

Jeanine: Psalm 31:2 (NIV)“Turn your ear to me, come quickly to my rescue; be my rock of refuge, a strong fortress to save me.”

Cheryl: He has showed you, O man, what is right. And what does the Lord require of you? To act justly, and to love mercy and to walk humbly with your God. Micah 6:8

Do you have your verse committed to memory yet?  What insights has God given you about it?

This entry was posted in Scripture Memory and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to SMT 1 Check-in

  1. Becky Roode says:

    Memorization is going great! And I’m so thankful for this verse because I HAVE NEEDED IT. The Spirit really helped me break it down piece-by-piece the other night when I was struggling with some anxiety. God is so good!
    I journal and every day I write my verse in my journal from memory to keep it fresh. Sometimes if I’m chatting with friends online I will randomly type it out to them. And my family members have been bombarded with it. I don’t even ask anymore…just start saying it. 🙂

  2. Kelly S. says:

    Ive got mine! Praise the LORD, and I keep seeing the word HOPE everywhere.
    Also, my daughter is participating this time and she has hers down too 🙂

  3. Rebecca says:

    Hi Michele,
    I would be so happy to hear your thoughts on the Shack. I have been to a church study of this book and many thoughts were passed around. Let us know what you think!
    Hope you are keeping well!

    • Michele says:

      Hi Rebecca,
      I’ve got mixed feelings about the Shack. Different, for sure. I liked that he wove a lot of Scriptural principles into the story. And I did not read it impartially, I approached it constantly thinking of the painful ordeal with my Cindy.
      The one part I get stuck on is that God did NOT stop Missy from getting hurt. The God characters admitted that Papa did not intervene to stop it. So God wants us to trust him while telling us that we will still get hurt in this world.
      And it has affected my prayer life. I specifically asked God to protect Cindy from panicking and that is exactly what happened. So now I’m afraid or hurt or hesitant to pray for important things because God will not necessarily answer those prayers.
      So, bottom line, I liked the book, but I think I was hoping it would answer more questions than it did.

      I would be very interested to hear some of the thoughts your group had on it.

Comments are closed.