Scripture Memory – Jan 1st

Hey are y’all ready to watch God do amazing things in you through the study of His Word??  Here we go!

We can get the ball rolling with this post.  I will publish a SM page so there will be a tab at the top of the page with all the information and links.  I will also create posts to help with memorization techniques, tips, and encouragement.  They will all be listed on the SM page, so check back for that.

For now, let’s  start moving.  Submit a comment to this post with your name, city, verse, reference, and translation.  Feel free to share what’s on your heart today.  Expand on what the verse means to you, why you chose it, or what you are hoping for through this.

Here’s mine:

Michele, Liverpool, NY: Call to me and I will answer you, and will tell you great and hidden things that you have not known. Jeremiah 33:3, NRSV   I almost did not go with it because I was trying to find one that spoke to ALL my issues right now and I did not see it in this verse.  Then God explained to me that just because I cannot see it right now does not mean he cannot use that verse to teach and change me.  And I don’t want to admit that it looks like this lesson is intrinsic in that verse!

So, here we go! What verses did you select?

This entry was posted in Scripture Memory and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Scripture Memory – Jan 1st

  1. Kelly S. says:

    Romans 15.13
    Now may the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace in believing, so that you may overfow with hope by the power of the Holy Spirit.

    God made it clear several times this was my first verse for 2011. Hope is the “word”. Not sure what it all means, but I know only He knows what 2011 holds for me and I want to be listening. Definitley some unbelief issues we are working on right now, so I think that applies with this verse too. I also just finished reading “Fogotten God” by Fancis Chan. Its about how we do not listen to the Holy Spirit in so many areas of our life. I am examining myself in this way too.

    Happy New Year, Michele. May 2011 bring you closer to Him! Love~

    ps Im taking a abreak from FB for the month of January….just trying to get all my priorites in line. Hope to stay in touch here 🙂

  2. Rebecca says:

    Rebecca, Canada: English Standard Version:”I will rejoice and be glad in your steadfast love, because you have seen my affliction; you have known the distress of my soul”,

  3. Becky Roode says:

    Becky in Norfolk, VA
    2 TImothy 1:7 (HCSB) ~ For God has not given us a spirit of fearfulness, but one of power, love, and sound judgment.

    After several years of off and on panic attacks God delivered me in 2010. But I still struggle with uncontrolled anxiousness at times. And a number of things I have stayed away from only because I was afraid of the things that could go wrong or that I would all of a sudden go into a panic/anxiety attack while I was alone or far from home. I am claiming in Jesus’ name that this be a NO FEAR YEAR (followed with a no fear life!).

    God has been awesome, pouring out Scripture to me that I can memorize in 2011. I knew that my first verse would need to focus on the fact that God does not want me to live in fear, but also be a verse that told me what He has planned for my life/given to me (instead of fear). A spirit of power, love, and sound judgment! I’m head over feet for my Lord!!

  4. Hey Michele, Happy New Year to you.
    Tracy- Mobile, AL
    Jeremiah 1:9-10 NKJV “Then the Lord put forth His hand and touched my mouth, and the Lord said to me behold I have put my words in your mouth. See I have this day set you over the nations and over the kingdoms to root out and to pull down. To destroy and to throw down and to plant.”

  5. Jeanine says:

    Jeanine
    Athens, NY

    Psalm 31:2 (NIV)
    “Turn your ear to me, come quickly to my rescue; be my rock of refuge, a strong fortress to save me.”

  6. Cheryl says:

    Hey Cindy!
    Saw where you were following me on twitter, which led me to your profile, which then led me to your blog!
    So I thought I’d say hi from way down here in south Georgia!
    My SSMT verse is
    He has showed you, O man, what is right. And what does the Lord require of you? To act justly, and to love mercy and to walk humbly with your God. Micah 6:8
    (and I typed it from memory, woohoo!)

    I’ll be keeping up with you on Twitter and maybe someday we’ll get to meet IRL!

Comments are closed.