Before Jesus Came to Earth

What was it like for Jesus when he was preparing to come to Earth?

It is an impossible task to try to imagine what God thinks because His ways and thoughts are so much higher than ours.  God is Almighty God, Sovereign Lord, Supreme Ruler of the Universe.  Those aren’t just dime-store titles, they are feeble words attempting to help us get our minds around things that we will never understand.  God is so much bigger and more powerful than we give him credit for, even when our hearts are right, because our thinking is limited.

That said, and conceding the point that we cannot grasp God’s ways or thoughts, sometimes it is fun to try.  God wants to reveal himself to us, and he does it in many ways.  He wants us to know him.  So, as we prepare to celebrate the birth of Jesus, one aspect I have been wondering is – what was it like for Jesus pre-incarnation? Whenever you do something significant, you should have a preparation checklist, like pilots preparing for takeoff.  Make sure everything is ready.  What would be on that checklist? 

How did Jesus prepare to physically enter the world?  That is a huge mystery.  The Bible records a number of instances in the Old Testament where God appeared to humans.  These events are called theophanies, from the Greek words Theos (God) and phania (to appear).  So God had done this before, but the difference was that while the theophanies were manifestations of God, Jesus was the first and only God-man, fully divine and fully human.

So, how does God – think about that – God himself condense or put a bit of himself into a tiny cell that the Holy Spirit implanted into Mary’s womb? Simple answer – I have absolutely no idea.  A scientist/theologian friend of mine suggested contemplating the Lorenz Strange Attractor, which is an infinite plot of a complex system contained within a finite space – in other words, an illustration of the infinite contained within the finite.  Ummmm, yeah… pretty pictures. 😛

Also, What was Jesus thinking before he took on flesh?  We do not know for sure, but here are some possibilities:

  • Okay, deep breath.
  • Good job on the heads-up, Gabriel, isn’t Mary sweet?  Watch the look on her face when she sees me the first time.  Priceless.
  • I’ll miss you Father.  I’ll see you in 33 years, which, since we are above time, will seem like an instant.  Hey, I’m back!  Good to see you again.  I hated being apart from you.
  • I cannot wait to hug my beloved John.
  • We have stopped by, sent prophets, and performed miracles, but finally – to walk among them, to break bread with them, to commune with them.
  • Moses & Elijah, you guys are set for the rendez-vous, right?  Yes, that mountain.  See you there.
  • Now remember, Angels, as much as you will want to rescue me, I must do this to fulfill the plan of redemption.  Don’t get jumpy and pull out the nails.
  • Yes, Father, I know we could make the body fail earlier, but they are many and I want the full six hours on the cross to think about each one of them.
  • This is going to be uncomfortable and painful, but I love them so much.
  • I love them so much.
  • I love them so much.
This entry was posted in Theology and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Before Jesus Came to Earth

  1. Jeanine says:

    In enjoyed reading this very much. Your list at the end made me smile. Very creative. Merry Christmas and God’s abundant blessings to you in the New Year!

  2. Jeanine says:

    I enjoyed… : )

  3. Really love this- especially the end!
    I was thinking the other day how it’s interesting to think that Jesus was given grace, then became grace, to give it…made the brain hurt but definitely a cool concept:)

    How did you like Deeper Still? I am pretty sure
    It goes down as the most amazing conference ever:)

    Merry Christmas!

Comments are closed.