Deeper Still – Beth Moore

Notes from Beth Moore’s teaching at Deeper Still, Dec 4, 2010:

Rediscovering the Lost Art of Treasure

Luke 2:19, 51 – Mary treasured these things in her heart.  The Greek word for treasure is syntereo, meaning to protect, guard, preserve.

1. There are treasures out there.

Amaze – never comes to you for amazement’s sake.  It is not enough to be amazed, God amazes us to open us to treasure.

2. They are not my treasures until they make it past my defenses.

BIRGing means basking in reflected glory.

3. Treasures strung together can bring healing.

Luke 2:50 – they did not understand –suniemi

Matt 13:15 Otherwise they might see with their eyes, hear with their ears, understand with their hearts and turn, and I would heal them.

If we do not treasure, we will lose that treasure and others.  If we never learn how to treasure, all we are left with is the obvious
4. Our treasure gets lost in the same trash as our time.

It takes time to treasure.

5. We’ll miss our most expensive treasure if we look past the hardship and pain.

Luke 2:35 – a sword will pierce your own soul too..

Beth recounted the story of repairing a difficult relationship with her father and holding his hand as he died.  Not a dry eye in the house, but the story especially got to me as I remembered holding my Cindy and AJ as they took their final breaths just a few weeks before.

6. When you feel like you’ve lost the treasure, look for Jesus.

(Of course I was still crying through this part.  Powerful emotions – grief of losing the one I love mixed with gratefulness for unfailing love from the One who loves me.)

(I thought Priscilla had said the following, but it is written in my Beth notes, so idk) Jesus has had every piece of your puzzle.  He knew everything about your life when he was only 12 years old.

Somewhere in there I think Beth asked what Mary must have felt when they were looking for Jesus before they found him in the temple.  She knew her son was the Messiah, and she had lost him.  Yea, that would be bad, for all of us.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Deeper Still – Beth Moore

  1. Jan says:

    Michelle – you did a wonderful job with your recaps of Deeper Still. Thank you so much! It was a joy to meet you – what a sweet spirit you have. I pray 2011 will be a year of great joy to your heart, and I am so sorry about the loss of your beloved pets.

    Georgia Jan
    Isaiah 40:8

Comments are closed.