Deeper Still

Hello all!

Tomorrow morning I head south to the Deeper Still conference in Birmingham, AL, where Beth Moore, Priscillia Shirer, and Kay Arthur will be teaching, along with Travis Cottrell leading worship and some other Lifeway folks pulling things together.  It is interesting that 55 years ago today, Rosa Parks refused to give up her seat on a bus in Alabama and fueled the civil rights movement.  I wonder if God is planning on setting 14,000 people free from strongholds such as fear, anxiety, and addictions to live life free in His Spirit.

And if not all 14,000, maybe at least one.  I have dealt with depression and anxiety my entire life, and although God has been transforming me in many ways and the depression has been better, I still have anxiety.  Tonight it is overwhelming.  I have been very depressed today because I still miss Cindy terribly.  There have been many reminders of her and my heart just plain hurts.  I am anxious about getting things done before I leave and worried about some aspects of the trip, not to mention all the uncertainties that lie ahead when I get back.  (Of course after today’s mini-blizzard, I threatened that if it is sunny and warm down there and snowing up here, I might not come back) 😛

Sometimes I tell myself to go back and read my own writing.  And what my writing says is to read – and believe – God’s writing.  Yes, this is a tumultuous time and God created us with emotions that are able to swing all over the place, especially when we are hungry, anxious, lonely, tired, or in pain (with my neck I’m 5 for 5). 

BUT…  here is the truth…

God is who he says he is.  He is sovereign – NOTHING is outside his control.  He has a good plan and will carry it out.  God is good, wise, loving, and faithful.

I am who God says I am.  I am his child, worth dying for, loved more than I can imagine.

So, tomorrow I head to the airport with my Bible, ipod full of Bible teacher podcasts and worship music, Charles Stanley’s book “Finding Peace: God’s Promise of a Life free from Regret, Anxiety, and Fear,” and a bunch of tissues.

Perfect love drives out fear 1John 4:18Are not five sparrows sold for two pennies? Yet not one of them is forgotten by God. 7 Indeed, the very hairs of your head are all numbered. Don’t be afraid; you are worth more than many sparrows. Luke 12:6-7

For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future. 12 Then you will call upon me and come and pray to me, and I will listen to you. 13 You will seek me and find me when you seek me with all your heart. 14 I will be found by you,” declares the Lord, “and will bring you back from captivity.” Jer 29:11-14

I’ll let you know what God does (if I come back 😛 )

This entry was posted in Attributes of God, Cindy, Life Application. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Deeper Still

  1. Kelly S. says:

    I am so excited for you!! I will be praying for you this weekend, and I hope you will post a full report of DS Birmingham. I have heard so much buzz about this conference, and I am sure God is up to something. I wish I could go, but it just didnt work out for me this time 😦 I will pray that you will receive a fresh Word from God and a double portion of grace and healing, and may He give you insight of how He might use or redeem this season of your life.
    (my memory verse for today) Psalm 145. 9-10
    The LORD is good to all, and his mercy is over all that he has made.
    All your works shall give thanks to you, O LORD, and all your saints shall bless you!

    I just know Travis will sing Forevermore….dang, im just a wee bit jealous 🙂
    safe travels my friend !

    • Michele says:

      Thank you Kelly! Too bad you couldn’t go. I’ll think of you when I’m at the airport. 🙂 Thanks for the prayers, I hope God gives you your own little Deeper Still connection right where you are.
      See you in Siestaville!

  2. Jeanine says:

    Thanks for sharing. I pray you have a blessed time all around!

  3. Carol says:

    Hi Michele
    woke up praying for you this a.m. go get a word seista and may the God of Love and Power may He fall a fresh on you and give you water for your dry and thirsty soul.
    Give us a shout when you get back
    Safe travels my friend
    Carol

  4. Tracy Stoffell says:

    Michele,

    I will be praying for you this weekend. Have a wonderful and safe trip. Wish we could have met this trip, maybe next time.

    Tracy

    • Michele says:

      Thank you so much Jeanine, Carol and Tracy. I made it to Birmingham but now I’m pretty sick. I hope to be well enough to go tomorrow, but idk anything at this point.
      thanks for the prayers, i appreciate them and hope to meet each of you someday

      • Carol says:

        Michele the enemy is trying to prevent you from going you go sister the enemy will try to block you from going and put rocks in your path ,
        Lord I pray that you will put a hedge of protection around Michele and heal her body there is something there for her to hear at that conference Lord give her strength, Lord lift her spirit and give her joy and lots of laughter and lots of love hold her in your arms Lord.
        Amen
        Carol

Comments are closed.