SOW – Introduction

As announced, we will start the Study of the Week this week.  God willing, each week we will dig into a particular aspect of Scripture, theology, or history and see what kind of amazing things God will show us.  This post is an introduction to set the stage.

I wanted to make sure we include theology and history in our study of the Scriptures.  In Seminary, I initially questioned the requirement of studying history and theology, wondering why we did not just focus on the Biblical text.  However, I soon learned that those subjects are extremely valuable – and interesting!

I look at it like this – Bible study is meat, the main course, your necessary protein.  The Bible is the inerrant Word of God and no other book or source should ever replace our meditation on the Scriptures themselves.  Nevertheless, theology, history, and other related areas are the other courses of the spiritual meal.  They compliment Bible study and give you a broader range of nutrients.  And just as salad aids in protein digestion, knowing the context of a passage of Scripture can significantly increase your comprehension of the text.

Since this is the first time I have ventured into this type of teaching format, I am not sure how this Bible study blog will take shape.  One issue I have encountered with this first study is Scripture Bunnies.  Those pesky critters have a field day with people like me.  You start examining one thing, and then a word or detail catches your eye and you start digging into that, until the next furry detail takes you running off in another direction, and on and on. 

Case in point – I wanted to start with the topic of “light.”  When I started looking at how light appears in the Bible, I was amazed at all the different topics you could study just concerning that one word!  I could write a book – and someday, I hope to, but the goal here is to capture one part of that venture into a manageable blog post.  But what part?  Hence my dilemma.  That is what I am working on now.  Sometimes I get overwhelmed, but I am praying that God helps me focus and that he brings to LIGHT 😉 what he wants us to learn each week.  So Scripture Bunnies may abound, but if we remain focused on God and his Word, it will all be good.  🙂

Honestly, I do not know how frequently the posts will come yet.  I want to commit to at least one a week, but if there is an interesting subject, we could have a two or three-part study through the week.  And right now I am facing the fact that this blog’s namesake, my companion of 16 ½ years, is near the end of her life, so I might not be up for much writing for a while depending on how that goes.  But we know that God is amazing and maybe he will end up generating a post on how he shows grace and love through our painful times.  Praise Him.

I would love it if this blog became not just a forum for me to teach (because I love to share what I learn), but more of a collective study where we are learning together.  That said, if anyone has something to add or an alternate interpretation on a post – please share!  Remember – iron sharpens iron.

Also, if anyone has a topic or idea to study, let me know and we will check it out (or start a list of Scripture Bunnies to chase later, haha)!

I am honored to study with you.  Look for the first SOW – Light post soon…

All Scripture is God-breathed and is useful for teaching, rebuking, correcting and training in righteousness, so that the man of God may be thoroughly equipped for every good work. 2 Tim 3:16–17, NIV.

This entry was posted in SOW. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to SOW – Introduction

  1. I find it very interesting that you and I seem to be on very similar paths at this point. I also love to share what I have learned and I love to learn. LOL You are so right in that iron sharpens iron, and it is truly wonderful when God places those iron sharpening friends in your life no matter what form they seem to take.

    I am looking forward to your post. As far as Cindy, I have a dog of my own Bae Bae (my son named her). I even imagine something happening to her. I will keep you and Cindy in our prayers.

    Tracy

  2. Michele says:

    Thank you Tracy

  3. Tina says:

    I am looking forward to what is ahead in what you have to share!!
    GOD is so amazing and loving!! The Holy Spirit has something for you to share, exciting!!
    Have a blessed week,
    Tina

Comments are closed.