The Peace that Passes All Understanding

Caring for a geriatric dog can be challenging at times.  In some ways, it is like having an infant, because when they are restless or fussy, you can tell something is wrong, but because they cannot speak English, you have to guess what they need.  Sometimes you are right and they settle down, sometimes you try everything to no avail.

Recently, after being up with Cindy for two and a half hours in the middle of the night, I was completely exhausted and frustrated.  I had prayed many times, but admittedly, my prayers contained an element of annoyance toward God for not helping Cindy.

Finally, I dropped to my knees and offered a different prayer.  I shared my feelings with God, including the anger.  I repented for my attitude and confessed my total dependence on him as Sovereign Lord.  I thanked him for his presence through this trial.

Immediately, God’s peace washed over me and the anxiety melted away.  Cindy settled down, and we got some sleep.  I hope I never forget what it was like to experience the cleansing power of God’s peace.

Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God.  And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.  Phil 4:6-7, NIV

This entry was posted in Cindy, Theology. Bookmark the permalink.