Unfailing Love

Tonight our first-year co-ed softball team lost 35-1.  It was frustrating.  I hate losing.  It probably bothers me more than it should because growing up my worth was rooted in accomplishments.  When I earned my first varsity letter I thought, “Now I’m somebody.” 

The problem with finding worth in works is that sometimes you fail.  No matter how hard you try, you can’t always win.  No matter how good you are, there will always be someone better, faster, younger, stronger. So when you lose, your thought paradigm declares that you are worthless.

But God says otherwise.  He loves us unconditionally.  Jesus says we are worth dying for.  No matter what we do or can’t do, God loves us. 

Who will separate us from the love of Christ? I am convinced that neither death, nor life, nor angels, nor rulers, nor things present, nor things to come, nor powers, 39 nor height, nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God in Christ Jesus our Lord. Rom 8:35, 38-39

This entry was posted in Theology. Bookmark the permalink.